N







Some helpful tips on how to get around




Tell us what you think!



Portugal's beauty has inspired a lovely lady who shares from her heart some verses, celebrating the Portuguese experience.

Enjoy her poetry here

Testimonials 2010-2008

Let our clients experiences entice you to visit Lagos and to stay with us. Email your feedback to: staywithus@simplylagos.com. We may post all or an excerpt of your testimonial.

"Website"
Coming across your site today was like winning a lottery
Most concise, informative, professionally designed vacation site
Best website of its kind I have seen
Helps to tap into the wealth of knowledge

"Condominium Apartments"
Highly recommended to our friends, Five Stars!
You REALLY CARED that we have a good experience
Perfect place to stay in to make a vacation memorable
Appreciate all of the extras which you provide
Quite the best accommodation it has been our pleasure to stay in
Overall standard and the attention to detail was outstanding
Best equipped property that we have stayed in
I really would challenge anyone to find a better apartment
We were all so thrilled that the apartment was way way above our expectations
Location excellent, apartment excellent, weather excellent
Love the apartment, love the complex, love Lagos
2nd year at apartment for us.....absolutely love it!
Apartment felt like our 'home away from home'

Testimonials from 2012-2011

Testimonials from 2007-1997

Name Comments
265)

Jackie & Tim Stubbs

  Winnipeg, Canada
  December 22, 2010

Dona Ana: We had a wonderful holiday, the apartment was absolutely beautiful and the location was perfect! This was my 5th visit to Lagos and Luz so we know the area well. It was my brother and sister in-law's very first trip outside of Canada so they truly enjoyed the entire experience and did alot of exploring on their own while we were in Lisbon. I would most certainly stay at your apartment again when we decide to book another trip. Thanks again for everything!


264)

Matthew & Chantal

  Nova Scotia, Canada
  December 8, 2010

Dona Ana: Honeymoon in Lagos- My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Dona Ana apartment during our honeymoon this fall. This was our first trip to Portugal but it definitely will not be our last! The Dona Ana apartment was ideally located near numerous beaches and the old town. Lagos was a magical place to experience and the accommodations exceeded all of our expectations. We felt completely at home, the attention to detail and guides provided by Ken and Marie were invaluable and helped us navigate Lagos with ease. We especially enjoyed reading the guest book kept at the apartment and experimenting with the different restaurant and wine suggestions passed on from previous visitors! Thanks Ken and Marie for an unbelievable experience, I highly recommend these accommodations and Lagos for anyone looking to take the vacation of their dreams!


263)

Paul Marffy

  Sommerset, England
  October 29, 2010

Dona Ana: Had a lovely time thankyou. Apartment was excellent. We enjoyed Lagos very much and will certainly spread the word about your apartment. Thankyou again for all your excellent information and letting us stay in you beautiful apartment.


262)

Julie-Rose Campagne

  Leiden, Netherlands
  October 25, 2010

Dona Ana: We really had a great time in Lagos and wouldn't mind getting back in the near future, maybe even springtime 2011. The surroundings and the apartment were `fantastic'.


261)

Ross Milligan

  Airdrire, Scotland
  October 19, 2010

Dona Ana: You quickly realise you are not in a 'holiday' apartment but a full sized and well equipped home with everything you need for a quality holiday. The location is ideal for those driving, walking or using public transport. We are keen to return. You have an excellent resource in Barbara. She is just the kind of person you want to meet after traveling a distance - informative, friendly and welcoming but does not overload you with stuff you don't need to know. We had a great time at the apartment and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others or to go back ourselves.


260)

Alan Freeman

  Somerset, England
  October 11, 2010

Vilabranca: We had a lovely time, weather could have just been consistently more sunnier but then it was early October, which on the other hand meant that it was nice and quiet. The apartment was extremely comfortable, spacious and very well equipped. Cannot think of anything that could improve it. The apartment has an excellent aspect overlooking the pool and spacious terraces, with an east facing balcony so ideal for a sunny breakfast but then cooler later in the day. Lots of useful literature available within the apartment, I think we ate in your recommended restaurants most nights and were never disappointed. Vilabranca is a noticeably very well maintained complex, pleasant staff. The complex is ideally located for the beaches, town and supermarkets all of which were within easy walking distance. A great place to stay and very relaxing, I would definitely return if I were to visit Lagos again and would recommend it to friends and family. Thank you for the opportunity of holidaying at your VB apartment.


259)

Peter Manson

  Ottawa, Canada
  October 10, 2010

Dona Ana: We had a great trip! Madeira is full of spectacular scenery and we really enjoyed it even though the weather wasn't the best. The weather in Lagos was perfect - sunny every day but one and not too hot or too cool. And Lagos and the Algarve are really beautiful with all the cliffs & beaches. The apartment was fabulous and we really felt comfortable there. It was bigger than we needed but we really enjoyed having a real kitchen and the space. We really appreciated all the little things you did like providing beach chairs and sun umbrellas, DVDs to watch and a well-equipped kitchen.


258)

Marcel Labelle

  Ottawa, Canada
  September 29, 2010

Dona Ana: The four of us had a great time!, This our second time around and we were not disappointed. We stayed in your newest Apartment and it was perfect. Thanks for introducing us to the restaurant by the Meia Praia. Everything is well organized, and you can't ask for a better location.


257)

Nicki & Norman Beveridge

  Dundonald, Scotland
  September 29, 2010

Dona Ana: We had a great time thanks. We really needed this holiday and it was just the perfect opportunity to relax and chill out. Weather was really good, very warm and just what we hoped for. We couldn't believe how warm the sea water was - what a change from normal ! The apartment felt like our 'home away from home'.


256)

Lynne & Lyn Stacey

  West Glam, Wales
  September 25, 2010

Dona Ana: Thank you for providing us with such a spacious apartment in a peaceful area of Lagos. After visiting Lagos & the surrounding area over a number of years we can say it was the best apartment we have stayed in with everything we needed & more & thoroughly enjoyed the Library, DVDs`s, Information centre etc, Many thanks to you, your website & also Barbara for greeting us. Would hope to return again sometime next year.


255)

Carol & Gary Benson

  Nottingham, England
  September 24, 2010

Dona Ana: What a memory, Gary and I hadn't been back to Lagos for 20 years but we were pleased to find that it remains virtually the same and has kept it's charm! We all had a fab time and have to say that the apartment was one of the best we have stayed in and you have certainly thought of everything. I haven't had chance to discuss next year however we would love to return again at the end of August.


254)

Denise & Tony Brady

  Nottingham, England
  September 24, 2010

Dona Ana: Once again we had a fantastic time in Lagos - particularly in your impeccable accommodation. It was lovely to be in the downstairs apartment this time - so convenient for the girls to be able to go in and out of the pool as and when they wanted. Our friends thoroughly enjoyed themselves too. I still cannot think of anything that could improve your accommodation - to us it is a home from home.


253)

Marcin & Natalia Kondziela

  County Mayo Ireland
  September 15, 2010

Vilabranca: Thanks a lot for fantastic holidays, we enjoyed every minute of our stay in your apartment. Great, well equipped, tranquil and spacious place. Your tips about Lagos were very helpful, especially your maps. Lagos is absolutely amazing and fab town. Excellent organization of our night arriving to accommodation. With a clear conscience we will recommend this apartment to our friends.
PS. for polish people: naprawde warto, cudowne miejsce!!!


252)

Trish & Duncan Moore

  Nottingham, England
  September 14, 2010

Dona Ana: Yet again we had the most wonderful time at the DA apartment we feel it is now a real home from home for us. We always feel so welcome and Barbara is always ready to help if you need her. The weather was excellent and we had to use the aircon at night sometimes or most evenings we stayed on the balcony and just relaxed with a book. We still have not managed to visit all the places on our list as there are so many old friends to visit Fernanda at the casa do ze was as always our first stop, and Carlos at the cantino algarvio prepared us the most wonderful crab (and I got a rose), we also spent a very pleasant lunch time up at the o camilo where we had sardines as there were no anchovy that day. We found a great place on est da ponta de piedade ( just up from the new little spa shop) to stop and have a cup of coffee and homemade cake at the little cafe gartenzwerg (garden gnomes) which was most welcome on the way back up from the old town on a very hot day you must try it. This means that of course we will have to return again next year and as Nicola and Mark want to bring the twins with them we will need both apartments. Once again thank you so much for sharing your apartment with us we will be in touch again soon.


251)

Elaine & Rob Deeming

  West Lancashire, England
  September 7, 2010

Vilabranca: Thank you so much for the use of your beautiful apartment. We had a truly wonderful holiday. The weather was perfect, the apartment was fab, the area gorgeous and the company great. We really couldn't fault anything.


250)

Solis Family

  Ontario, Canada,
  August 23, 2010

Dona Ana: Lagos is a perfect vacation destination; and Marie & Ken's condo is the perfect place to stay in to make a vacation memorable. My family felt like we were in our own home. Marie has furniture and cutlery like ours - now that made us feel more at home :-) Seriously, the condo is so spacious and has all the amenities that a vacationer needs. There were books and movies that we helped ourselves to. And because there is a dining and living area, we were together as a family at the end of the day (as opposed to being in our own separate hotel rooms). This makes a huge difference in family bonding. We felt at home in Marie's place that we always said "let's go home" at the end of the day and we had to remind ourselves that it is not our home.

The guides that Marie put together helped us a lot in planning a day -- very organized suggestions and detailed maps and directions. This definitely helped us since we planned our day only as we were eating breakfast. The location is also perfect. Just a stone's throw away from Dona Ana. The condo was quiet. Marie & Ken's place is a definite a perfect place to stay in at Lagos.


249)

Barbara & Niall Meikeljohn

  Leeds, England
  August 21, 2010

Dona Ana: Another very successful holiday, we had a great time. We definitely found the direct access to the pool a huge bonus with taking the downstairs apartment this time. The weather was very hot, even the locals were saying it was excessively hot for Portugal. We repeated a couple of the days out which we had done last year, the boys were not going to let us get away without visits to Slide and Splash and Aqualand. However we also did some new things this time. We went on one of the tiny boats from the fort along the grottos, it was brilliant. We also did a dolphin watching tour, this was the highlight of our holiday. I guess if you don't get to see any dolphins then it is just a very expensive boat trip, but we were fortunate to see a whole group of dolphins, adults, juveniles and a mum and baby. We stayed with them for about 20 minutes, we had them to ourselves as the other boats were just leaving as we arrived. It was amazing. We used LagoRent for our car hire this time and this proved to be very quick and easy. Thank you very much for the use of your apartment, we really do appreciate all of the extras which you provide and would definitely recommend both Lagos and your apartments to anyone.


248)

Fintan McCutcheon & Siobhan O'Brien

  Dublin, Ireland
  August 17, 2010

Dona Ana: We had a most enjoyable ten days in your beautiful ground floor Dona Ana apartment. In particular we got great value out of your excellent detailed folder, frequently taking trips and using restaurants recommended by you. We loved Lagos too, and the apartment was ideally located for walking to beaches and the old town with ease.


247)

Tony & Joan Potterton

  Berkshire, England
  August 17, 2010

Vilabranca: We had a brilliant time thank you. Apartment was great, spacious, clean and the air conditioning was very welcome on a couple of the nights especially after a 46 deg day! Pool was great too as was having the Super Eureka shop at the entrance to Vilabranca. We would highly recommend the steaks at Triangulo on the stone tulip roundabout. For surfing,our son had a great time with Surf Experience and for a full day including food, tuition, transport and equipment we felt 45 Euro was excellent value.


246)

Vanessa Law & Vincent Brooks

  London, England
  August 6, 2010

Dona Ana: Thanks for a great holiday-we had a lovely time with great weather and the children loved the pool! I only wish we had a longer time there. The apartment had everything. Great apartment and we loved Lagos-and hope to come back sometime soon.


245)

Ronnie & Barbara Earle

  County Down,
Northern Ireland
  August 5, 2010

Dona Ana: We were really pleased with your apartment and have been continually praising its qualities to friends and indeed other holiday makers we met in Lagos - apart from location and ease of access quite the best accommodation it has been our pleasure to stay in - the overall standard and the attention to detail was outstanding and contributed enormously to another memorable holiday in the Algarve. We are looking forward to a return visit some time next year. Your information pack was outstanding and we had a terrific day on your favourite beach up the west coast - the name escapes me just now but it reminded us of our own fabulous beaches on the west coast of Ireland - miles of sandy dunes and the place practically to ourselves and yet only a little around 30 minutes drive from Lagos. Just great, the way I like it.


244)

Thomas Long

  Yorkshire, England
  July 21, 2010

Dona Ana: We have been traveling to the Algarve for the last 25 years and to Lagos for the last 7 and I must say that yours is the best equipped property that we have stayed in. It is perfectly positioned for all of the main beaches, easily approached from the airport and has many excellent restaurants in the vicinity (some no more than 100 mtrs away). Easy access to walk into Lagos and when you want to travel further afield it is ideally positioned to get to Luz, Burgau, Sagres or up the coast to the miles of surfing beaches.
The ease of booking, your attention to detail (we even tried restaurants that we didn’t know existed) and the services of Barbara make for an ideal combination. I really would challenge anyone to find a better apartment and at a realistic price.
Thank you for the use of the property.


243)

Richard Long

  New Zealand
  July 21, 2010

Dona Ana: When we decided to make the trip to Europe we were going to go to Spain and perhaps Italy and then Dad and Mum said why not Spain and the Algarve and they would join us. What a fantastic decision we made to visit Lagos. It is not the easiest of tasks to find holiday destinations that are ideal for both aged parents and teenage girls but Lagos certainly is. When traveling from the other side of the world it is always a gamble if the accommodation will live up to the photos and website descriptions. We were all so thrilled that the apartment was way way above our expectations. The washing machine was a god send. Not having to seek out a laundry was a welcome change.

We have rented numerous properties all over the world and without doubt this is the best equipped that we have encountered. We shall certainly ensure that the web address is distributed to all of our friends.


242)

Martin & Jaqui Walley

  Co Cork, Ireland
  July 17, 2010

Vilabranca: Jaqui and myself enjoyed our holiday very much and were very happy with the apartment. Barbara was very helpful and we had no problems with the apartment. We love Vilabranca and have stayed there for several years. The DVD player was welcome even though we did not use it, the washing machine did come into use and was great to get some washing done as we went through our two weeks but the electric kettle was great - I always cracked up when using the gas so it was great to fill the kettle and come back when it suited rather then rushing to the whistle!! Air conditioning was welcome during the very hot nights as we were in the mid 30's during the day and mid 20's at night - bit too warm! The info on the restaurants allowed us to check out a few new ones but the O'Mana Takeaway was great - excellent Piri Piri and great value - would say that it was easier to turn left at Penguims and follow the road.


241)

Jillian Charlton

  Edinburgh, Scotland
  July 17, 2010

Dona Ana: Yes, back to a cold and rainy Edinburgh. It was so hot in Lagos and we even had a swim in the sea. This I had not done in 25 years. We had a great time and DA2 was very well-equipped and more spacious that I thought. Your photos on the website really don't do it justice. Our first night was exciting as there was a storm and all the patio chairs were flung about. I even fished some poolside furniture out of the pool! The car hire firm were very pleasant and efficient though it is a bit of a baptism of fire getting out of Faro on the wrong side of the road! Your instructions were most appreciated. Thank you again for being so thoughtful and I think Barbara and her husband were also most helpful.


240)

Noel & Annette Burns

  West Sussex, England
  July 6, 2010

Dona Ana: We had a wonderful holiday in Portugal. The scenery was spectacular especially the West Coast - the area around Sagres and Carapateira .The walks around DA were great. We would walk to the lighthouse one morning and the following morning we would walk to the promenade and along to the footbridge and then head back home via the Old Town. We drove to many many other beaches which were all super. We managed all the stairs to DA beach- quite proud of ourselves! We cannot fault your apartment it was truly fantastic and we were soooo comfortable and there was nothing we ever needed. You information file was also extremely helpful, so very many thanks Best wishes Noel Annette & Peter.


239)

Sally Ashworth

  Bury, Lancs, England
  June 29, 2010

Dona Ana: Ann Mandy and I thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and will be returning at some point. Your apartment has to be the best accommodation and situation we have had the pleasure of staying in. We all thank you for your hospitality. It was great to meet you and spend some time with you.


238)

Fiona & Brian Wilson

  Edinburgh,Scotland
  June 29, 2010

Vilabranca: Vilabranca: We really enjoyed our stay at the apartment and had a really relaxing holiday. We are now back into the grind at home!


237)

Kenneth & Lynda Harvie

  Lanark, Scotland
  June 18, 2010

Dona Ana: Lynda, the kids and I would like to thank you very much for providing such a fantastic apartment for our stay in Lagos. We were delighted to have such a well equipped place to stay and the high standard of comfort made Dona Ana a perfect base for our time away. It was immediately obvious that there has been a lot of TLC invested in the place! I also want to say how pleasant and helpful we found Barbara to be.


236)

Polly Smith & Brad Jennings

  Bradford, England
  June 17, 2010

Vilabranca: We had a lovely stay and are thinking about coming again in Sept.


235)

Mary Maxwell & Bill Robertson

  Saskatoon, Canada
  June 7, 2010

Vilabranca: We all enjoyed discovering Lagos together; what a wonderful place to learn about. The weather was fabulous during our stay which was a bonus. We rented a car and drove to Monchique and Silves and even Salema one day and Sagres and Cabo San Vincente another day. It was great to see the surrounding countryside and explore the smaller towns, including the historic sites. We all found the apartment at Vilabranca spacious and well-equipped, centrally located, and very clean, indeed. The beaches were spectacular, the Jurassic limestone a marvel; the town was fun to explore and such wonderful dining out! We loved the food and I have become an olive eater! Take care and thanks again for the welcome to Lagos.


234)

Joshua & Ingrid Pendleton

  Calgary, Canada
  June 3, 2010

Vilabranca: We had a great stay at your apartment. Lagos is a great place and the area is gorgeous. Thanks for all the info of places to eat, excursions etc.


233)

Alison & Lance Woods

  British Columbia, Canada
  May 21, 2010

Vilabranca: Just a note to let you know we are safely back in Fanny Bay. We had a great time in Lagos and found the apartment all we had hoped for. The very first thing one notices is how clean and bright everything is! That is important to us! We did rent a car, but found ourselves walking miles!! Walking is something we enjoy, so it was great to just head out in the morning, before the heat, and walk to the light house, or the city square, or one of the nearby villages. We had forgotten all the wonderful flowers, wild and cultivated, that grow everywhere in the Algarve. Such beauty!!

I must say, we also enjoyed Barbara and Cesar. What a breath of fresh air they were. Because of the eruption of the Icelandic volcano, there were very few people around, after the second week and when Barbara came around, we were very glad to have someone to talk with. It felt very strange to be the only residents in the whole apartment building. It was strange, also, to go into the little restaurant, next door, and either be the only people there, or two of but a few. This whole volcano event is really effecting the economy of the area and the world. There was this pall hanging over our trip as we wondered what we would do if we couldn't fly home. But, here we are! I think you would find the apartment was left clean and well cared for. And thanks again for the lovely place to rent. Cheers.


232)

Sandra & Rick Aldington

  London, Ontario Canada
  April 1, 2010

Dona Ana: We had a fantastic time in Lagos. Your Condo was the ideal place for our vacation. You and Ken have put a lot of effort into providing your visitors with everything they need. We enjoyed your collection of DVDs and your tips for day trips were amazing. Barbara and Cesar are an extremely nice couple and were always eager to help in any way the could. Rick and I really enjoyed our chats with them.

I certainly have no suggestions for any improvements. Your very careful attention to detail made our vacation very comfortable. I would love to return in the warmer weather and swim in the pool. We hope you have a great time when you return to Lagos. Thanks for all your help.


231)

Steve Conlon & Helen McIntosh

  Almonte, Ontario Canada
  March 29, 2010

Vilabranca: The stay was great ...no rain, and sun almost everyday, the Apartment was everything we expected, close to the town and was quiet at night ....all in all a very nice stay, food was fantastic, wine was very good, the locals were amazingly friendly and helpful. Thanks again for all the information prior to our arrival, it made things very easy to get around.


230)

Peter & Christine Dowdell

  Somerset, England
  March 5, 2010

Dona Ana: We had a lovely stay at your apartment. (We left it as we found it...lovely). The weather in fact was not bad at all...most rain was at night and we only got a little wet once...It was warm and as we had both been to exactly that area many times we knew where to go. Had a couple of nice afternoons at the Spa fitness and pool on the Boa Vista complex (details left in the apartment). Lots of good meals and quite a bit of sunshine.


229)

Robert & Debbie Ferguson

  Nova Scotia, Canada
  February 17, 2010

Dona Ana: Beautiful Dona Ana Apartment, the gorgeous sunsets and sunrises of nearby Dona Ana beach and the wonderful inviting culture of Lagos beckoned us for a return visit this January and February. Our second visit to the apartment at Dona Ana re – affirms our affection for Lagos people, its rich history and a magnet to the Age of Explorers. The spaciousness of Dona Ana apartment allows for complete comfort; apartment amenities fulfill the desires of a 5* rating. The location is absolutely central to the beaches, numerous eateries and the calling of the sea.

The brochures masterfully crafted by Ken and Marie for guests, like ourselves, are a mecca of places to visit, cafes and restaurants to experience, maps to guide you to various locations within Portugal and comments to further entice you to come to beautiful Lagos. Indeed, the testimonials within the brochures and on the Web superbly define the character of Lagos in all its glory and tradition. The statute of Henry Navigator at the water's front is now a calling for people, like us, to visit the area. Make Dona Ana Apartment your ‘Home Away From Home' when visiting SimplyLagos; you will not be disappointed.


228)

Clementine Van Veen

  Ottawa, Canada
  January 4, 2010

Dona Ana: In spite of rain, late flights and lost luggage we had a good time. The condo is wonderful - you have thought of everything. We had good food and good wine. We spent New Years at Vino Divino - we could walk. the food was great and we had a great view of the fireworks from the upstairs terrace - they served champagne during the show. We took advantage of your movies and games. Barbara was great - she was very helpful. What a gem. Hope you enjoyed the holidays.


227)

Rita Koutsavakis

  Kanata, ON, Canada
  January 4, 2010

Dona Ana: We really did enjoy our holiday. The weather stopped us hiking and seeing more sights but we did have fun trying all the new wines and food and heading off on some road trips .Portugal is an amazing country, extremely pretty.Your apartment was wonderful. You managed not to forget a thing! We enjoyed coming back in the evening and playing board games and watching movies .I will tell everyone about it without a doubt.Also, Barbara was a wonderful help especially regarding our luggage! Happy New Year!


226)

Maureen Osland & Vicky Blevins

  Whitehorse & Victoria Canada
  December 21, 2009

Dona Ana: Our time in Lagos was exactly what we were looking for .. for our month away. The weather was great. The town was great. The condo was great. We were very comfortable in all aspects of the vacation. Lagos is a wonderful place and the people were really great. Longstays really allow you to get to know the locals .. and we did! We spent hours walking along the cliff trails, wandering beautiful clean beaches, and exploring the culture of the area. Our one day adventure over to Albufeira confirmed that we had made the right decision in going to Lagos. Albufeira is just way too busy for us. So .. all in all, we had a wonderful time. Thanks for everything and we hope to return some time in the future. Oh .. and Barbara and Caesar are just wonderful!


225)

Sally Ashworth

  Birtle, Bury, England
  October 18, 2009

Dona Ana: Fab holiday, best ever. Your apartment is perfect. so perfect that we want to come again in May. Thanks 4 all your help.


224)

Graham& Sue Jepson

  Leicester, England
  October 16, 2009

Dona Ana: We had a lovely time thanks, and the weather great. You have done a fine job with Dona Ana which was lovely and a credit to you both.


223)

Peter & Marion Schroeder

  Remscheid, Germany
  October 15, 2009

Dona Ana: We had a wonderful time in Lagos !! The apartment is very beautiful and very well located with a wonderful view to the sea.
We like it very much and hope to go there again soon. We had good luck with the weather - sunshine all the time - only one day with thunder and rain. We spent every evening outside because we had around 25 degrees. It was fantastic !! P.S. We like the furniture of the apartment very much - it is warm and friendly.


222)

Martin Keating

  Dublin, Ireland
  October 2, 2009

Website: My daughter and I have just returned from two great weeks in Vilabranca, where she had a weeks surfing. I found your website invaluable. The amount and quality of information was great, especially the roundabout landmarks for driving. We visited a number of restaurants from your list and all were excellent.


221)

Trish & Duncan Moore

  Nottingham, England
  October 1, 2009

Dona Ana: We had the most wonderful time at the apartment the weather was perfect and I was in the pool everyday, it got very warm so all the extra space outside was very welcome to lounge on the sunbeds and just pop back inside to get some more iced tea and another book. The fish market really is a treat and well worth a visit even if you don't want to cook it.

We hope to be back again next September with Nicola and her husband and their twins who should be old enough to travel then and the super patio will be perfect for them to play on (I will keep in touch and let you know who they are when they arrive some time in December). We will have to book both apartments. I am working on making the two visits a year a regular thing and we could have the DA apartment for spring and golf and the DA2 for the autumn sunshine, as we like them both its hard to decide. Many thanks again for all your help at such short notice we really appreciated it. Very best wishes to you both.


220)

Robert & Una Skelly

  Belfast, Northern Ireland
  September 24, 2009

Dona Ana: We had a wonderful stay at your apartment everything was perfect. Your app was beautiful more than I expected. I will recommend it to my friends and family and we will surely be back.


219)

Summer & Mike Innanen

  Toronto, Canada
  September 23, 2009

Dona Ana: We had an amazing time and it blew away our expectations. Your apartment was fabulous and we couldn't have asked for anything more.


218)

Tasneem & Steve Bridgeman

  Cheshire, England
  September 20, 2009

Dona Ana: The apartment was absolutely lovely and we were very happy to be back at our favourite end of town. Thanks again for allowing us to stay in your beautiful apartment where your meticulous attention to detail and thoughtfulness really showed!


217)

Chris & Suzanne Nason

  Southam, England
  September 10, 2009

Dona Ana: Just got round to spending some time looking at your web site. Thought I'd let you know we think its great - loads of really useful stuff that we would never have uncovered I suspect. Thanks - it must have taken quite some time to pull together but it's well worth it.

Holiday was excellent - as was your apartment - thank you. Beaches were ace - went on Banana boat, hired wet suit on west coast to tackle sea temp and huge waves and hired a 250cc buggy and went off roading all of which was fun. We were really impressed at how well equipped the Apt was - especially the extras like the beach chair and parasols - they really help. No breakages I am pleased to say - I did drop one plate but somehow managed to catch it before it reached the floor! A longish winter let after retiring in a few years is very tempting...Thanks for your major contribution to our most enjoyable holiday.


216)

Denise & Tony Brady

  Rainworth,, England
  September 7, 2009

Dona Ana: We would all like to say a massive thank you for the wonderful holiday we had in your beautiful apartment. It had everything you could need and very tastefully decorated and laid out.
My mum and dad could not get over how spacious and well organised everything was - they thoroughly enjoyed spending some quality time with their grandchildren too. I am sure they will be booking to come back on their own at some point.

Mya and Niamh have had such fun in the pool everyday and their swimming has come on tremendously. They also loved the DVDs especially Annie which they hadn't seen before but they must have watched about 5 times and so we all now know all the songs! Annie is on at the theatre in Nottingham next week so we will be taking them to see it - they are very excited.

We all had some lovely meals out - the food was delicious. So, all in all, a fantastic time was had by all - made even more memorable by the comfortable and pleasant surroundings. Once again, we would all like to thank you for your wonderful hospitality and I am sure we will be booking again for next year. I will be recommending your apartments to all our family and friends so hopefully bookings will be flying in!.


215)

Kerry & Johnnie Cousins

  Buxton, England
  September 2, 2009

Vilabranca: We have had the best holiday ever. The combination of good company excellent location and great accommodation. I will be recommending your apartment to all my friends and clients. We really have had a great time, we walked to Dona Anna beach everyday where our friends own an appartment over looking the beach. the very last building top floor. We loved Lagos we visited the garage sardine cafe excellent! We also visited the end of summer concert, the girls learnt how to water ski on our friends boat. Thanks for making our first internet holiday experience a very easy and simple. My tan is fading but my memories are still strong! best wishes.


214)

Brian & Tonia Altoft

  Gainsborough, England
  August 28, 2009

Dona Ana: Well what can i say, we had a fantastic holiday. The apartment was excellent and Lagos was lovely. We managed to visit 5 different beaches, Zoomarine, do the Grotto tour, visit Sagres, Monchique and much more. Your directions were great and Lagorent were very helpful and the car was perfect. All in all everything went so smoothly, again thanks to your attention to detail. Lagos is great for kids, always something to do or somewhere to visit after a morning around the pool. We never had to take the sunbeds down to the pool. Like you said before we went, the big balcony is fantastic so we could go down for a dip then come back to lounge on the balcony. Although i must say there wasn't that much lounging done with a 5 yr old and a 7 yr old. We were pretty much on the go all the time. The weather was fantastic and very hot. It was the first time the kids had been abroad and they never complained about the heat once, they took to it really well (love the fact that there are no mosquitoes and it is slightly cooler at night unlike the med. This makes it ideal for the kids).


213)

Nuno & Teresa Terrivel

  Nazaré, Portugal
  August 27, 2009

Vilabranca: Our holidays were great and the weather was fantastic! Our baby loved the pool and we spent a great time in Lagos. The apartment was just perfect and we left it as we found it, nothing was broken. I have to say that you've been very helpful and professional and as we are very satisfied we'll definitely recommend VB and Simply Lagos to our friends and family. Thank you for everything.


212)

Onno & Brigitte Heits

  Norderstedt, Germany
  August 22, 2009

Dona Ana: Lagos is according our experience the best place to learn the Algarve. Located in the middle between Albufeira and Sagres we had a very good starting point for excursions. Lagos itself shows up with beaches as you may know them from postcards only – beautiful sand and water and picturesquely situated. Our favourites were “Praia Dona Ana” (5 minutes by foot) and “Praia do Camilo”. The city beach “Meia Praia” gave us opportunities to walk along the beach (10 minutes by car). Lagos with its beautiful old city we reached in 10 minutes foot walk has many good restaurants and shopping opportunities, and gave us the chance for interesting evening walks.

Your apartment is perfectly equipped. We missed no tool in the kitchen from the oven, microwave, dishwasher and huge refrigerator to all the little tiny helpers that are needed in the end. One balcony at the kitchen to have a breakfast on the shady side in the morning and the huge balcony attached to the living room, with ocean view and a view to the pool to watch our children, when we used the sun beds on the balcony. There were enough sun beds at the pool as well. We found even a sun umbrella in the apartment and were glad to have it for use. Having two bedrooms and two bathrooms made the life easier for all of us. We made some photos and a film, which will bring us back all our memorable experiences from these perfect holidays.


211)

Gary & Tammi Cohen

  Hove, East Sussex, England
  August 21, 2009

Vilabranca: A very big thank you for letting us stay at your wonderful apartment at Vilabranca. As you are aware we were taking our 15 yr old twins with us and none of us had traveled to Portugal before. Your website was the best we've ever come across, so informative we couldn't go wrong. The apartment was lovely and spacious. Barbara and her team were helpful and friendly. We hired a car and traveled along the coast line visiting all the little villages on the way. We went on a boat trip around the grottos, we did this in the morning before the wind picked up! We also got very brave and booked up a 3hr kayaking course in the sea. It was quite an experience but well worth it. I would recommend anyone to give it a go, we loved it! We then went on to go horse riding in the evening at Tiffany's riding centre. I say we but Gary declined to go, wimp!! We were exhausted the next day but very happy with ourselves. We went to Splash and Slide water park, good day out but you do need an umbrella for shade. We drove up to Monchique and took some beautiful photos from the top. There wasn't many places we didn't visit but the gem of them all was the Dam at Barragem Bravura it was just breath taking. Nothing was around us apart from a restaurant called Hansel and Gretal. The food was good and plenty of it and the peace was fantastic.

Lagos town was great especially at night. We would get dressed up each evening and walk into town and chose a different restaurant to eat in. Your recommendations for eating out were very helpful to us.
Overall we found the whole holiday one of our most relaxing and enjoyable. The food was good, the weather fantastic ( never rained once ) and most of all the people were the most charming we have ever come across. We have traveled alot over the years but never to Portugal, well that has changed because we all fell in love with it. We have told all our friends and family about the experience and hope in the not too distant future that we'll be back. Once again a very BIG thank you to you both for sharing your lovely holiday home with us, it was home from home.


210)

Graham & Annette Wright

  Beverly, East Yorks, England
  August 19, 2009

Vilabranca: Really enjoyed our holiday, thanks. Love Lagos (it was our second visit but won't be our last!) and the apartment was just what we were looking for.


209)

Josepha & Francis O'Brien

  Dublin, Ireland
  August 18, 2009

Vilabranca: We really enjoyed our trip to Lagos and our stay at your Vilabranca VB apartment. Lagos is a really little jewel and we will definitely return. Your driving instructions and information in the package were fantastic to have and also the file in the apartment. It cut out a lot of research on our part. I hope we will be able to book your VB apartment again for a longer period in the not too distant future.


208)

Shona & James Lodge

  Halifax, England
  August 18, 2009

Dona Ana: "Your DA2 apartment looked fantastic when we booked, but it was only when we arrived that we could appreciate the full extent of all the thought that had gone into making our stay as easy and comfortable as possible. I'm still telling friends about all the thoughtful 'extras'.....the bunker full of beach equipment (even including a surfboard!); the sun parasol, picnic set and coolbox for days out; the milk and tea/coffee on arrival: the fantastically well equipped kitchen and lounge full of holiday reading, games and DVD's.

We didn't realise how close we actually were to the beach, and having 3 or 4 clean sheltered beaches all within 15 mins walk was tremendous, as you could chose a different one each day depending on what whim took you. Having the steps down to the pool is wonderful for families with children, its so easy for them to pop straight in and out of the apartment. Their friends from round the pool can also play safely on the large terrace, with their mums and dads still able to see where they are. Our son had a fantastic time and made lots of friends.

We had explored the Lagos area many years ago but had great fun rediscovering it and we appreciated your local guide books, maps and pamphlets for days out which were available for browsing through. The 'Blue folder' has information on just about anything you could possibly want to do, and specific directions how to get there. The Sand Sculpture Fiesa is truly breathtaking, and well worth a visit.

We had a wonderful family holiday, our best ever. Thank you so much Ken and Marie for all the thoughtful touches that made everything go so smoothly. Having been to your apartment, we wouldn't stay anywhere else on the Algarve now, and I do hope we will be able to make a return visit in the near future. .


207)

Catherine & Stephen Rigby

  Preston, Lancs, England
  August 10, 2009

Dona Ana: First of all may we say what a wonderful holiday we had in Lagos and your apartment was lovely, and as all the reviews state extremely well furnished to a very high standard with every thing we could possibly need. So much care and attention has been put into the apartment and you really have thought of everything! We had wonderful weather for the whole nine days and our children loved the swimming pool and playing on the grassed area, they soon made friends which meant for a more relaxing holiday for us. We went to a few of the local beaches: Praia do Camilo was stunning, one of our favourites was Porto do Mos but this is probably due to Antonios restaurant on the beach, the sardines and the tuna salads were delicious.

We ate out most nights and we have to say every meal we had was excellent, we went to Italia Pizzeria twice it was definitely one of the best Italian meals we have had but get there early because by 8.30-9.00pm they were queuing out of the door. Another favourite was Mullens we ate here twice, we loved the rustic feel it had and the staff were lovely, I had the chicken piri piri which was so tasty it was that good I had it both times, oh and it is worth going there just to read the menu – its hilarious! Very well written - example: Chicken Piri Piri – neck wrung today! If you don’t want to walk into town Onde Norte just at the entrance to the apartments was excellent especially if you like meat and great sangria.

We had a trip to Slide & Splash, which our children loved and so did we – Great Fun! But make sure you take a parasol as there is no shaded areas. We will be recommending your apartment to friends and family and we would definitely like to return in the future. Thank you for a lovely holiday


206)

Barbara & Niall Meiklejohn

  North Yorkshire, England
  August 7, 2009

Dona Ana: What a fantastic holiday. I had visited Vilamoura many years ago but the rest of the family were new to Portugal. Lagos is stunning. We loved the old walled part of it and the boys loved walking along the water front and seeing all of the fish.The weather was fantastic, particularly as Britain is having another of it's cool wet summers. The apartment had everything we could have asked for, it was spacious and fitted out to a very high standard. We very much appreciated all of the information which Ken and Marie had provided both before the holiday and in the apartment on arrival. It made life easy for us in finding our way around the apartment and the local area. The full wine rack was a lovely touch and the bread, milk, tea etc was very welcome on arrival. We have extended the idea to a pack of beers left in the fridge for the next guests.

Barbara was happy to explain everything within the apartment and pass on ideas of places to visit and good places to eat. The Slide and Splash and Aqua Park Waterparks were the highlight of the holiday for our boys. It is well worth taking the umbrella and the coolbox with plenty of drinks to both sites. There is very little shade at either park and it will save renting when you arrive. At Aqua Park if you wish to rent a tube to save queuing, you need to get there early and rent one immediately. Check the web sites before you go for vouchers - we saved 16 euros at Aqua Park. We thought that the Sand Sculptures at the Fiesa at Pera were amazing. Well worth a visit. The Paraiso Restaurant just across from the apartment is not yet mentioned in the information pack but we felt it was very welcoming, great value and there was plenty on the menu to suit the boys.We would happily recommend this apartment to our friends and would love to return ourselves at some point.

205)

Deborah & Paul Davies

  Cardiff, Wales
  July 30, 2009

Dona Ana: We had a fabulous holiday in Lagos, and I would like to say that after traveling abroad for 25 years on Summer vacations, your apartment is by far the best accommodation we have ever experienced. Superbly well equipped, massively spacious and furnished with such high quality items, we were hugely impressed. You've done a great job, and we really appreciated it - particularly the small personal touches - welcome note etc. We will be returning, maybe not in 2010, but we will definitely pass on our
experience, and will update the testimonials page once we've got over the disappointment of being back home :(. Transfer to and from the airport was also impressive, Alan himself took us back to the airport and was a most informative and entertaining host/chauffeur. Thanks again for a wonderful holiday experience.


204)

Andreas Dangel & Rubiela Jironsa Omen

  Flörsheim, Germany
  July 23, 2009

Dona Ana: Thanks, our holidays have been very well, and the apartment was really wonderful. When we go again to Lagos in future I think this apartment is first choice, I can really recommend it.


203)

Bernard & Susanne Dembowski

  Fleet Hampshire, England
  July 21, 2009

Vilabranca: We all had a lovely time in Portugal and the Vilabranca Apartment was very comfortable and well equipped. The information that you provided came in very useful and tried a couple of the restaurants that you recommended. Driving was easier than I had expected which was handy for the beach as well as excursions to several places of interest. A very enjoyable holiday.


202)

John Walsh & Karen O'Driscoll

  County Cork, Ireland
  July 17, 2009

Dona Ana: We really enjoyed our stay in Lagos again this year. Thanks very much to yourselves and Barbara for making the whole experience hassle free and enjoyable. As I have said before this is the best holiday accommodation that we have ever stayed in without exception. It is the first time that we have returned to the same accommodation so that is a testimonial in itself. We would hope to return again next year.


201)

Jess Vestergaard Orlien & Birgitte Hansen

  Skovlunde, Denmark
  July 13, 2009

Dona Ana: The family had a wonderful holiday in Portugal - Lagos and Sintra. We´ll surely spend our holiday in Portugal an other time. Thank you for your care and thoroughness. You certainly have a grip on things.

.


200)

Andrew & Rebecca Knight

  East Lothian, Scotland
  July 9, 2009

Vilabranca: I must say your booking process is fantastic – very informative and efficient - and your website is also great. You obviously have the process down to a fine art and I think it adds to holiday experience. Now back home in sunny Scotland! Just to say that we had a great week in Lagos. It has so much to offer and we really enjoyed our stay at Vilabranca apartment. Your apartment was perfectly suited to our needs - we actually never used the cooker or microwave all week as we ate out each evening - and I am pleased to say that we avoided any breakages. We also never had a need to use the air conditioning as there was a lovely breeze blowing all week. I look forward to arranging another holiday with you next year.


199)

Colm Walsh & Armelle Mitchell

  Dublin, Ireland
  June 30, 2009

Dona Ana: Apartment was perfect for our holiday with a young family, and pregnant wife. We enjoyed escaping the sun's hottest period on the very large wrap-around balcony, and ate all our meals outside, so we could just sweep and spray down afterwards. The pool is so convenient, the childrens section ideal for the under fives, the gate can be secured for safety and peace of mind with young children. We did not wish to rent a car, the transfers recommended were seamless, and found both the apartment's location to Lagos town, restaurants - in the building! and the lovely Dona Ana beach itself an easy stroll. We took taxis home from town when hot, or with shopping, for under EU 4 each time. The apartment is very spacious, the 2 bathrooms and amenities are more than standard. Even some beach toys for our kids were found in the bench outside, saving unnecessary purchases!

Please tell any future guests who need to check out early that Sandra at Camping Trinidade is most accommodating, left luggage there, and used showers before taxi pickup, she charged 7.50 for our family! gave her a tip of course. But saved the day.


198)

Kim Fleming & Derek Francis

  Co. Longford, Ireland
  June 25, 2009

Vilabranca: We had a brilliant time and thanks so much for all your help and advice. Dona Ana is beautiful and in a lovely area . We ate in Onde North and Parisio on last two nights and both were fab. Derek had to go home early for work but I still felt very safe and relaxed out there alone with the kids. We will definitely return and get back to you with dates as soon as we can.


197)

Samantha Bell & Will Jones

  Channel Islands, UK
  June 23, 2009

Dona Ana: We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in Lagos! The apartment was brilliant and had everything we could have ever needed! All of the guides and maps were very helpful and the coolbox / picnic set came in very handy. We had a hire car while we were there so went exploring to the west coast to surf a few days. We also did some trips from Lagos - the dolphin seafari and the kayak trip in and around the grottos which were both really good! The temperature was perfect and it wasn't too busy so we would probably come back this time of year again. Many thanks for a brilliant holiday!!


196)

Einav & Christopher Leberknight

  Great Meadows, New Jersey, USA
  June 22, 2009

Dona Ana: We are back home! We had a great experience and time at Lagos and your apartment was fantastic beyond expectations. We have a few of Portuguese-American friends who I don’t think ever been to the Algarve so we will definitely recommend your place.


195)

Nicole & Horst Grabenkamp

  Herzogenrath, Germany
  June 18, 2009

Dona Ana: We enjoyed our holiday very much and everything went well. Thanks for the good preparation, and the information you provided were very helpfull. We certainly will recommend the appartment to friends and may be return ourselves one day. Thanks a lot for your care and the nice support you gave to us for our fine holiday.


194)

Sherri & David Nock

  Woodlands, Texas, USA
  June 4, 2009

Dona Ana: We all had a wonderful time in Lagos and loved your apartment!!! It was absolutely perfect!! The kitchen is fully equipped, as is the rest of the apt. It was nice to have a couple of umbrella's handy, as we thought it might rain one day (but it didn't :) ), and we forgot to pack them in our suitcase. The extra picnic items are also a great idea, with the cooler for the beach, or a road trip. We didn't use them, but I know others will. Your website is fabulous, and very helpful. We used it daily, for day trip ideas, restaurants in the evening etc. We enjoyed having a couple of games available to play, which the 4 of us did, a couple of evenings .Barbara was very helpful with information about the apartment and Lagos. Very friendly and fun to talk to! I have already recommended your apt. to friends, and we of course will continue to do this!! We enjoyed all the Portuguese wine. Now I'm going to start looking for some in the stores around here. Thanks for everything!!


193)

Penny & Richard Ling

  Wickford, England
  June 2, 2009

Dona Ana: We had a wonderful time in Lagos & all thought your apartment was an excellent place to stay - a real home from home . Please thank Barbara for getting the apartment ready early for us, it was much appreciated as we were very tired from our 02.30 am start !!! Nothing was damaged or broken during our stay - everything was in perfect working order & the fact that everything was so well labeled& so many instructions for appliances etc was excellent . We have stayed in many cottages in the UK & it sometimes takes us the whole week to find out how things work !!!!


192)

Di & David Kitchen

  Newport Pagnell, England
  May 26, 2009

Dona Ana: Super apartment & super time!! We were amazed at the level of thought you have put into the apartment - found the cool box very useful! The location of the apartment is great, & loved having 2 balconies. Restaurants within walking distance were a massive bonus, as we could all enjoy a drink without the worry of driving. The Onde Norte was the favourite, with most enjoyable food. Anyone could stay in the apartment & have a lovely holiday with everything on their doorstep, as swimming pool, beach, shops and restaurants are all within walking distance & a bus stop outside the apartment! It certainly has it all!! We will certainly spread the word for you & would definitely visit again. Many thanks for a wonderful relaxing holiday.


191)

Christine & Patrick Twomey

  Country Kildare, Ireland
  May 25, 2009

Dona Ana: Just to let you know that we really enjoyed our stay in your Dona Ana apartment at Lagos. It was the best apartment we have ever stayed in – even better than anticipated. The location was very convenient to the lovely beaches, cliff walks, and town. We found the information on your website and book very helpful. We enjoyed our morning swim in the pool. We would have no hesitation in recommending it to our friends.


190)

Nicki & Norman Beveridge

  Dundonald, Scotland
  May 25, 2009

Dona Ana: We had a great holiday, thanks. Good weather, nice surroundings, good food etc - couldn't ask for better. Very relaxing and just what we needed. I-pod connector and aerial connection much appreciated. Suggestions for improvement - really struggling on that one as you have a fantastically well equipped appartment. You have good general reference books and some on Portuguese history and culture - maybe a Portuguese/English dictionary to complete the set?


189)

Catherine Reynolds & David Joyce

  Lincoln, England
  May 6, 2009

Vilabranca: Back home now, had a lovely time thank you.
Weather was really good, maybe a little hot on the last few days for a large pregnant person! Apartment was brilliant, couldn't have asked for more thank you and Williams bed was put out nicely, he was much better at sleeping than we thought!. Barbara came round to check everything and she was lovely.


188)

Trish & Duncan Moore

  Nottingham, England
  April 20, 2009

Dona Ana: Just to let you know we are back in the good old U.K after a truly splend rest at the apartment and that yet again it was all we hoped for. Duncan managed to get in three games of golf and although the weather was a little damp at times it was still great to get away from all the stress of work and have a complete break from our usual routine. We managed lunch with Fernanda and had quite a chat with her and as you said the erosion at o camilo was shocking to see but the walk down the steps to the beach was still worth the effort. Our friends Peter and Dorothy also wish me to pass on their compliments on such a wonderful location and the comfort of the apartment. I think they thought I was exaggerating as I have been singing it's praises and boring them with last years photographs. They also think it would make a good base for their son and daughter and their respective family's so you never know they may be in touch. We hear that Brady family have already made their booking with you ......... maybe I had better stay quiet or you will have no room for us. Well again many thanks for all your help and we look forward to returning in the near future, as soon as I can get Duncan away from work that is. Keep well both of you.


187)

Dave & Chris Lansley

  Niagara on the Lake,
Canada
  April 18, 2009

Dona Ana: Your apartment in Lagos worked out perfectly for us. It was clean, spacious, comfortable and convenient. Lots of room, even when our visitors were with us and they were suitably impressed! You have really thought of everything with good quality furnishings and kitchen equipment - much appreciated. The shopping trolley made our trips to the Supermarket much easier. We enjoyed the location as we went on many cliff walks enjoying the spectacular views and the abundance of wild flowers that were blooming in February and March. Our longest walk (16kms) was taking the local bus to Salema and walking back along the cliffs - there are return buses from 3 villages on the way back, just in case! Walking into town, the marina and Meia Praia was also a favorite. We used the train and the local buses to explore the area (great transportation) and also took a day trip to Lisbon with Mega Tours - they picked us up at the apartment at 5 a.m. and returned us at 9 p.m. - we recommend that trip. We did have a car for a week so
ventured further afield at that time. Weather, except for 4 days out of 45 days, was sunny and warm during the day. We didn't realize how cold it became once the sun went down especially in February and the heaters and electric blankets were most welcome during those times! Having said that, I did use the swimming pool a few times in March - it was refreshing!!! We "found" the restaurant "next door" ONDE NORT. Was always full, so needed reservations; food, service and prices excellent -highly recommended, we ate there on 3 occasions.


186)

Laura & Scott DeLuca

  Rockport, MA, USA
  March 29, 2009

Dona Ana: We had a wonderful time at your apartment in Lagos. We greatly enjoyed the town of Lagos. We also put our kids in packs, and hiked to Luz on the cliff walk. This was incredible! I found your information extremely helpful and informative. The unit itself
was spotless, and had all the amenities one could ever want. Best to you and thanks again for a wonderful stay at your beautiful condo.


185)

Betty & Don
Kojich

  Champaign, IL, USA
  January 11, 2009

Dona Ana: We want to thank you SO MUCH for making our trip to Lagos a great success! We had so much fun exploring the area on foot as well as a couple day trips to neighboring towns. It was a little chillier than the weather reports had said, but it was fine for the activities we did. Your directions and other helpful hints all were of great help. We will be sure to let our friends and family know about your apartments and if we're able to return in a couple years, we'll keep your info on file. Thank you so much for a tremendous introduction to Portugal! With much appreciation.


184)

Leslie & Chris Anderle

  Walton on Thames, England
  January 3, 2009

Dona Ana: We had a great time in Lagos, even though the weather didn't quite cooperate with us. Had a few nice days, then lots of rain. Enjoyed the countryside and really visited everywhere. The instruction book taken from your web site is absolutely wonderful! Thank you for that. Everything is clearly marked, which made the trip that much more enjoyable! We really had a lovely time and appreciate your hospitality.


183)

Pat & Peter Hughes

  Chester, England
  December 22, 2008

Dona Ana: I would like to say what a pleasure it was to stay in your very spacious, well equipped and organized apartment. I think you have thought of everything. You have obviously gone to a lot of effort to ensure that your guests have all the information they need to enjoy their stay in Lagos. I will certainly recommend you to our friends. May I wish you and Ken all the best for Christmas and the New Year.


182)

Rosemary & Maurice Fisher

  Malvern Wells, England
  November 17, 2008

Dona Ana: The apartment is HUGE and very well equipped. We had arrived tired and hungry but only yards from Dona Ana is the delightful restaurant Onda Norte where we had a very substantial 3 course lunch with wine & coffee, costing 17 euros for the two of us! Thus fortified we soon settled in & fully appreciated the comfort & the position of our "home for the week" - so convenient for walks to the beaches, cliffs and town. We were always able to find great places for coffee, snacks and meals, as well as taking advantage
of the cooking facilities back at the apartment. The Simply Lagos maps were invaluable, though it's useful to pick up other free maps as you go round the town as each map seems to label a different selection of the smaller streets (the map on the far wall of the apartment is also good for an "overview"). Although we had rain the first night which continued into the morning, after it cleared we had wonderful weather all week & sat out at pavement cafes & on the beach with just a cardigan (though the locals were wearing anoraks!) Some intrepid tourists were swimming in the sea & many felt it was warm enough to sun bathe. All the cafes etc which we visited had very clean toilets (sometimes you had to obtain the key from the cash desk) and it's worth knowing that there are public toilets at the Cultural Centre. If you bring your own laptop you can "log in" at the library and then use the "hot spot" there or at the Cultural Centre. Don't forget to check out The Owl Story English Bookshop in Rua
Marreiros Neto for guide books & fiction (although the selection at the apartment is very comprehensive). We had a wonderful relaxing late autumn break & will certainly be back for more. Thank you Ken & Marie for your website which is so detailed & encouraging. Your enthusiasm is infectious!.


181)

Janice & Gavin Foster

  Hexham, England
  November 7, 2008

Dona Ana: Thank you for a wonderful holiday. The apartment was fantastic wanted for nothing. Barbara was amazing I felt if anything had gone wrong I would have felt comfortable to ring her. Once again a big thank you for a great holiday.


180)

Helen & Tony Brearley

  Huddersfield, England
  October 18, 2008

Dona Ana: Yes we had a great holiday - the apartment is superb and the weather was great. We shall certainly recommend the apartment and maybe we will visit again!


179)

Norbert Goettker

  Munster, Germany
  October 12, 2008

Vilabranca: Well, we are just back in town; and I must say, we had a very pleasant and wonderful time in Portugal, especially in Lagos at Vilabranca! All was fine: the apartment is large and all the things you need are there! It is a lovely resort, nice reception personal - all is OK!! We missed nothing! And also the weather was fine, thanks for that!! We did a lot of trips in the nearest surrounding of Lagos, visiting Sagres (!), Luz, the spots around, and the nice old city! We will tell our friends about our experiences and thank you very much for all your information, nice tips, best preparation and your lovely contact and communication! By for the moment!


178)

Nicky & Norman Beveridge

  Dundonald, Scotland
  October 9, 2008

Dona Ana: We had a lovely holiday thanks. The apartment was great - a nice home from home. Barbara is an asset - a great sense of humour, likeable, friendly yet businesslike. The Cleaners were fast, efficient and pleasant. We'd be pleased to recommend your services and will do so at every opportunity. You have clearly put a lot of time and effort into making your guests holiday in Portugal as enjoyable and easy as possible. I was impressed by your attention to detail, for example the small things like the cool box, extra parasols, the pale coloured bed linen and soft white towels, the milk and tea bags that Barbara gave us on arrival. Just some examples of what I thought were really nice touches. Thanks for you help and kindness. Really appreciated.


177)

Mick & Deborah Jones

  Edlesborough Bucks, England
  October 6, 2008

Dona Ana: Many thanks for a comprehensive and efficient holiday booking experience. We had a very nice time and Lagos was as peaceful as we remembered it. Your apartment was excellent and and gave us a really relaxing holiday. Apart from a couple of self-induced injuries (one a foot strain for my wife and the other an argument with a jellyfish for me) we enjoyed ourselves immensely. The information you provided was very useful and more
comprehensive than anything I've seen anywhere else that we've stayed. Once again many thanks.


176)

Bryan Arnott

  Tamworth, England
  October 2, 2008

Dona Ana: We were very pleased with the apartment it was very spacious and just suited all of our requirements. We ate out and had some excellent meals , the Onda Norte was excellent, the Bahia restaurant and a couple of the restaurants in the main square were
also. I will recommend your apartment to friends and family.


175)

Jill Brash

  Perth, Scotland
  October 2, 2008

Vilabranca: We are home safely. We had a great holiday in Lagos, not quite as relaxing as pre baby times but Clara enjoyed the portuguese way of life just fine. Thanks again for your efficient service.


174)

Rosemary & Linus Keegan

  Co. Kildare, Ireland
  September 2, 2008

Dona Ana: We had a wonderful time in Lagos, and would love to have spent a second week there. The apartment was perfect, a real home away from home. It had everything we could possibly need and more! We were lucky to have great weather too. Thanks for a great holiday.


173)

Tim & Hazel Ingleton

  Kent, England
  September 22, 2008

Vilabranca: We had a lovely time in Lagos. It was very relaxing and far less manic than July/August. As far as Simply Lagos is concerned, very happy to recommend this as the service / arrangements were excellent. The car hire recommendation was also excellent.


172)

Sarah & Mark Pearson

  Staffordshire, England
  September 14, 2008

Vilabranca: I would just like say what a wonderful time we had in your apartment at Vilabranca. The rooms are very, very spacious and it was very useful having two bathrooms. The kitchen has every utensil imaginable and it was nice to have a new cooker and hob to cook on. The complex itself is maintained to a very high standard. The gardener seemed to be working all day, every day. The 2 swimming pools are quite large and never seemed to be too busy. The walk into Lagos is very pleasant, takes about 20 minutes and a further 5 to the Meia Praia beach, which is fabulous. The Chinese restaurant at the stone tulips roundabout is excellent , and there is also a pizzeria/Portuguese restaurant more or less opposite the
entrance to Vilabranca which is also very good. I would recommend the Vilabranca apartments to anyone.


171)

Mike & Monica Palfrey

  Cardiff, Wales
  September 3, 2008

Dona Ana: Thank you for your prompt action and again thanks for
the opportunity to visit Lagos and surrounds again. The weather
held beautiful throughout and a great time was had by all. Monica thought that this summer was, perhaps, the best for many years so many thanks for the arrangements and we shall be in touch again.


170)

Jeff Foster & Sali Gresham

  Derby, England
  August 19, 2008

Dona Ana: We said in 2006 that we would have to return and return we did. It's the first time that we have been to the same place twice which speaks volumes and it was just as wonderful as we remembered it. Hope to go back again in a few years - Lagos is the most beautiful chilled place and the apartment is perfect. Anyway, we has a glorious time again and thankfully the memories are not
fading as fast as the tans.


169)

Andrew & Elizabeth Lee

  West Sussex, England
  August 17, 2008

Vilabranca: The apartment was very comfortable and met all our needs. Everything in the apartment worked well. Please pass on our thanks to your Property manager, for her most professional and friendly service. We didn't need to contact her, but it was reassuring to know we could if necessary and she always had time for a quick chat when we bumped into her around the complex. The consensus amongst our group was that we would certainly return to
Vilabranca, so we may well be in contact for a repeat booking.


168)

Mary Darroch

  Newcastle, England
  August 13, 2008

Dona Ana: My teenage boys and I loved our Dona Ana (DA2) apartment, which we found very luxurious and well-appointed. We liked the fact that the complex is quite small and our terrace faced onto the shared pool, which was safely enclosed and easily accessible by our own gate. The boys enjoyed the pool every day
and quickly made friends with some of the other guests' children which meant a relaxing holiday for me! Lagos town is only a short walk away and offers plenty of lovely restaurants, shops and street entertainment. Our favourite place to eat was Casinha do Petisco
(as recommended by our hosts). Favourite beach was Praia do Camilo and Ponte da Piedade is worth visiting for its amazing rock formations. The Simply Lagos website gives a wealth of useful information. I would certainly recommend both the apartment and the resort. Marie's excellent attention to detail means that you will have no trouble making the right choices, ensuring that your holiday is both memorable and hassle-free. Thanks again Marie for a wonderful stay.


167)

Anne & Robbie Robertson

  Stirling, Scotland
  August 4, 2008

Dona Ana: Keen to let you both know that we had an absolutely FANTASTIC time in Lagos and your beautiful apartment played a large part in that! We met quite a few other families at the apartments and Heather has a whole new collection of e-mail addresses! The 3 of us agree that it was probably the best holiday we've had - the beaches are beautiful, the weather was perfect and the food divine! I've got a feeling we'll be asking to book with
you again next year Marie so will be in touch. We left 3 new beach towels and another parasol for future residents. No breakages to report and can't think of any areas of improvement - you have thought of everything!


166)

Andy & Georgina Stevens

  Cheshire, England
  July 30, 2008

Dona Ana: We had a really great time in Lagos and your apartment was pretty well perfect - location was ideal, near enough to most of the facilities and the town centre. All of the family were most impressed with the standard of accommodation - you have certainly created a very comfortable environment and we felt very much at home straight away. I have to say that I was most impressed with your attention to detail - it is truly outstanding and certainly enhanced our enjoyment I would say that the website pictures do not do justice to the quality of the accommodation and in many respects we felt that DA2 was better suited to our needs, being close to the pool which the girls made use of most days

Car hire went very well - Lagorent met us at the airport and were very
attentive. I think the A22 has made a great difference to traveling along the Algarve corridor and we made use of it on most of our excursions. I think we managed to squeeze in a wide variety of days out - Aqualand, was popular with the girls. Zoomarine was also an excellent day, particularly the Dolphins and 4D cinema - both Aqualand and Zoomarine are highly recommended for families. The Zoo at Lagos was also another good day. Restaurants in Lagos were excellent although vegetarian cuisine was very
limited so we tended to rely on Chinese, Indian and Italian, although
there was a very good restaurant in Luz that came up with some more imaginative Veggie meals.

With regards to areas for improvement - I am really struggling to think where you could improve - all of the furnishings and electrical
appliances are of a the quality that you would have at home, and are
very well complimented by your choice of pictures and soft furnishings; you have a very detailed manual/website to assist with any query/questions. You have certainly gone above and beyond the call of duty and it is very apparent that you care deeply that guests have a wonderful experience - in terms of the Stevens Family - job VERY well done. We also drove up to your other apartment at Vilabranca and that looks a very good complex, although its location is less favourable to Donna Ana.

Finally, many many thanks from the Stevens Family for an excellent
holiday, I was very glad to have found you and look forward to further
visits.


165)

Catherine Doody &
Sean Doyle

  Dublin, Ireland
  July 29, 2008

Vilabranca: We very much enjoyed our stay in Vilabranca and thank you for such clear instructions and information.


164)

Ole Lerøen & Irene Madsen

  Bergen, Norway
  July 28, 2008

Vilabranca: We have had really beautiful days in Lagos. Nice apartment. We had a nice holiday!.


163) Ilkka & Marja Harju
 
Espoo, Finland
  July 14, 2008

Dona Ana: Thanks for the opportunity to use your Lagos apartment for our family holiday in Portugal. Apartment has very comfortable furnished and spacious rooms and is suitable for any kind of family holiday needs. Apartment is also fully equipped with kitchen e.g. washing machine and dishwasher, which makes the daily family life easy and gives time to enjoy holiday. More detailed information is already available on the SimplyLagos web pages, which gives a good opportunity to plan beforehand the holiday and the luggage to be taken with. Same information is also in printed form in apartment. We could not find anything missing but the marvelous amount of DVD movies and own "wine cellar" is worth of mentioning still. We found the apartment location also good, not in Lagos centrum, but a
just short walk from old town and harbour and therefore also less traffic. Tennis courts was quite near to reach ( 5 minutes walk) and food shops also in nearest corners. The pool area is so good that there is no need to go further swimming beaches and could enjoy swimming several times per day.


162) Jeff & Kim Howard
 
Calgary, Canada
  July 8, 2008

Dona Ana: Marie - Thank you for your wonderful place. My wife and I enjoyed the apartment, the town and the beaches.


161) Stephen Shepherd
 
Barrow-in-Furness, England
  July 7, 2008

Vilabranca: We have now returned from a great holiday having enjoyed our time at your apartment. We would just like to say we thought your apartment at Vilabranca was wonderful, a real home from home. The kitchen was very well equipped and all the rooms were very spacious. The 2 pool areas were kept clean and tidy and you could always find a sunbed by 1 of the pools at any time of day. Thanks for all your useful information and tips on the area. We
tried a few of the restaurants recommended our favorites being Reis and Don Sebastião and thought they were very good. However if you don't want to walk far the Triangulo which is just down the road by the Stone Tulips roundabout is also very good. I would not hesitate to recommend your apartment.


160) Sam & Neil Fletcher
 
Surrey, England
  July 4, 2008

Vilabranca: Had an absolutely fantastic time - your apartment is great and sooo big!! We are looking at next year and will be in contact ASAP. Thanks again.


159) Ian & Pauline McNaught
 
Derby, England
  June 23, 2008

Dona Ana: The apartment was exactly how we expected it to be from your detailed information and images. The location is good for the beach and accessing the old town its also nice to be able to access the pool from the balcony area (DA2).


158) Louise & David James
 
Northampton, England
  June 13, 2008

Dona Ana: Anyway I wanted to email you to say how wonderful our holiday was - mainly due to your apartment and its location and the fantastic information guide within the apartment. The apartment itself exceeded our expectations. To say it is spacious is an understatement!! It is beautifully furnished with every home from
home item you could wish for. We would definitely go back and would have no problem sharing with family or friends because there is so much room. It is bright, airy and clean with such a quiet location - perfect!!

My husband and I are both foodies and only went to typical Portuguese restaurants recommended in your guide - we were not disappointed. They were superb - most of which we would never have found had we not had your directions and map. We actually ate in one restaurant three times!! We also went to 3 others from your guide and every one exceeded our expectations. We also had chicken piri piri take away - again from your recommendation - about 4 times!! It was so delicious - we would visit the supermarket for salad (and of course fantastic wine) and then have the chicken for lunch on the balcony. We really felt like we ate like kings.

We only actually went to the beach one day as were so content chilling by the pool which was just so quiet. I actually felt like I was in a private villa as we had the steps down to the pool from the terrace and no one else around the pool most days. It was bliss. The location was perfect. Just a short stroll into the old town yet not
near any noise or bars with wonderful views to the ocean. We are so so glad we booked your apartment. So I just wanted to write and say a huge thank you for all the wonderful information you provide and for a fantastic apartment. Thank you again for all your great advice, suggestions and for letting us enjoy your fantastic apartment. We will be back!! .


157) Glenn & Deb Chambers
 
Brixham, England
  June 10, 2008

Dona Ana: We are safely back in the UK thank you. The apartment was excellent with everything we needed for our stay. We found your web site very interesting. The maps of Lagos in general and the old town in particular we found most useful. Your Lagos walks were also useful, we printed a couple off for our visit. The best walk for us was the coast path to Luz, a great way to spend a morning. Super views, fresh air and exercise. Thanks again for a nice holiday.


156) Sarah Colt-Williams
  United Kingdom
  June 6, 2008

Web-site: Having come across your fantastic website while I was generally surfing around to find out what the weather would be like in Lagos, I am looking forward to my holiday more than ever now. We are coming to Lagos for the first time for 2 weeks hols on 21 June and I am really looking forward to it now. Thank you for such an informative website.


155) Marilyn & Norris Robinson
  Nova Scotia, Canada
  May 26 2008

Dona Ana: Thanks for your kind regards, we had a wonderful trip. We loved the people of Lagos, so friendly and very helpful when we needed any directions or assistance. The apartment was very well equipped to meet our needs, we had no problems with anything. We took several tours, and also went to Lisbon for three days. We were fortunate to find a travel agent in Lagos who spoke perfect English, so she assisted with any bookings for tours, and our hotel in Lisbon. Your information in the apartment is "awesome", we referred to
it constantly, thanks for being so considerate to make your guest's stay so easy.

Take care Marie. We really enjoyed our visit to Portugal meeting lots of wonderful people and really getting a good sense of the culture and beautiful surroundings. The apartment was very user friendly with all of your excellent instructions. There was no breakage or no difficulties that we encountered during our stay.


154) Trish & Duncan Moore
  Nottingham, England
  April 24, 2008

Dona Ana: We are back in the UK well rested and relaxed, the memories from our week in Lagos will keep us going for a while. The apartment was superb with everything that was needed for a fantastic holiday and more besides. We made use of all your great information packs and found many of your restaurants although we only found Mullens after a long search (we had walked passed it several times) and the O Camilo was so busy the only table left was in the full sun with no shade so we had to give it a miss, but as Duncan always says you have to have something to go back for.

Both our daughter and her husband really enjoyed the pool and the beach as well as the BBQ chicken on the patio looking out to sea. Something we would have missed if we had stayed in the Tivoli as we usually do. We have been singing your praises to everyone here at home so you may find you get more inquires from the UK we only hope you will still have a space for us.

Every thing in the apartment was complete and working. Once again thank you for a wonderful apartment and with any luck we will be back soon.


153) Gayle & Paul Brisley
  Yukon, Canada
  March 31, 2008

Dona Ana: We returned home after another fabulous vacation. We
enjoyed our time in Portugal the most, but Venice and the Med. cruise were pretty wonderful too. Loved northern Portugal as well. Didn't get all the way to the top as we spent a lot of time wandering through fascinating little Medieval villages on the back roads, but we did a wonderful circle catching Oporto on the way back south. I guess we'll just have to keep coming back!!! Thanks again for everything Marie. We enjoyed ourselves immensely and look forward to a return stay.


152) Jamie & Harold Harrison
  Ottawa, Canada
  February 26, 2008

Dona Ana: Fabulous, Fabulous, Fabulous, the best holiday we have ever had. From start to finish you provided all the right information from the guide book in your apartment to your friends Alan Sutton and Nuno from LagoRent they both were very helpful and most pleasant people. It was our pleasure to have dealt with them. Your Dona Ana apartment was absolutely stunning from the lovely furnishings to the marble in the bathrooms, it is also very well stocked. The apt. has everything required for a long stay and we enjoyed it immensely. Let's not forget the great ocean view from the living room balcony, fantastic. Portugal is a beautiful country, especially the Algarve and your town of Lagos, so close to the wonderful beaches, and the old town is full of history dating so far back in time, we learned a lot. Portuguese dining excellent and most restaurants provided us with options if you did not like the local cuisine. We both had a wonderful holiday, the time sped by, we would like to say to both of you thank you for leaning us in the right direction. We will not hesitate to recommend you to friends and family.


151) Robert & Debbie Ferguson
  Nova Scotia, Canada
  February 24, 2008

Dona Ana: SimplyLagos par excellence! We stayed in Dona Ana "DA2" apartment from Jan 13 - Feb 19. The amenities in the apartment allow for complete self - sufficiency. Each room is tastefully outfitted to satisfy a 5 star accommodation. The information brochures personally written by Ken and Marie are a treasured library of what to see, what to do, places to visit and a superb account of Lagos culture. In short, there is no need to visit a tourist agency for information. Relax in the comforts of the apartment and read about Lagos in an atmosphere of splendid sunsets, music, large deck overlooking the pool with a view of the ocean beyond. What more can one ask for when in the Algarve and especially Lagos. We loved the many cliff walks, gorgeous beaches within walking distance of the apartment, the marina walk and the grottoes. Equally, we are impressed with the pride of the people in keeping the town so clean and welcoming to tourists. The apartment, its exquisite presentation and proximity to what Lagos has to offer is in keeping with the "passion" and love of Lagos which Ken and Marie share with their guests. Their inspiration "Experience Our Favourites" aspires others, like ourselves, to take up their challenge - a worthwhile and pleasurable endeavour.!


150) Bryan & Jane Snider
  Penticton, Canada
  January 7, 2008

Dona Ana: Just a note to say what a great time we had during our stay in "Simply Lagos" in November. Great condo, wonderful amenities, great location! The unexpected (but hoped for) bonus was the unusually warm weather! The water at the best beach on the Algarve was still warm enough in which to swim. Not just for a dip, but for a swim. Excellent snorkeling, and only a 6 minute walk from your condo! We rented a car, and although the drivers in other parts of the country are somewhat maniacle at times, everyone behaved themselves well in the Western Algarve, and even up the Pacific Coast, where the beaches and surfing are exceptional! Many thanks, not only for an excellent stay, but also for your very helpful website and area information. We have many fond memories, and hope to return before long!



© 2002-PRESENT SimplyLagos.com, Ken and Marie MacDonald -- All Rights Reserved

Visitors to this website are subject to the Terms of Use

This site was designed and constructed by Nautica Web Design